Switching or Leaving a Real Estate CRM: What It Costs to Get Out
Most agents pick a CRM by asking what it costs to get in. The better question is what it costs to get out: the term you're locked into, the notice you have to give, and what happens to your website domain and your database when you leave.
This guide sticks to what the vendors publish. Where exit terms aren't public, we say so. Get those in writing before you sign, not when you're trying to leave.
Exit terms at a glance
| CRM | Term | What's published about leaving |
|---|---|---|
| Follow Up Boss | No contract on monthly · 12-month term on annual | No contract on monthly billing; annual billing locks a 12-month term (2 months free). The dialer is a $39/login/mo add-on on Grow ($33 on annual billing). Amounts paid are never refunded (ToS §7). |
| Wise Agent | No term · 30 days' notice to cancel | No contract; 14-day trial auto-converts to paid. Cancel by email with 30 days' notice (official ToS). The WiseText SMS add-on carries its own $80 registration. |
| Real Geeks | 6- or 12-month term · no month-to-month | 6- or 12-month commitment — no month-to-month option. Exit terms are unpublished except a $50 domain-transfer fee; the $500 one-time setup is charged up front. |
| Sierra Interactive | 12-month term (either billing cycle) | 12-month agreement on either billing cycle; the $500 setup applies on monthly billing only (waived on annual prepay). Early-exit terms are not published. |
| Lofty | Not disclosed — confirm on demo | No published term, setup fee, or exit terms — every deal is negotiated, so confirm all of it on the demo before you sign. |
| BoldTrail (kvCORE's successor) | Not disclosed — confirm on demo | No published term, setup fee, or exit terms — confirm all of it on the demo. BackOffice is a separate product line, so confirm exactly what's in your quote. |
| CINC | Not yet verified — ask for the order form | The official pricing page publishes no contract length, setup fee or cancellation terms. Ask for the order form and the cancellation clause in writing before you sign. |
| BoomTown | Contract term not published | The billing FAQ is written for contract holders and bills setup fees within 2-3 business days of signing, but no term length or cancellation clause is published. The paid-advertising deposit is refunded only if you cancel all BoomTown services. |
| Ylopo | Not disclosed — ask on the demo | The pricing FAQ says terms and onboarding are covered on the demo. Ask for the minimum term, setup fee and the cancellation clause in writing. |
| Top Producer | Term on order form · 15 days' notice | Per the official General Terms: the initial term is whatever your order form says, then it renews month-to-month. You can only end it at the end of a term, by emailing [email protected] at least 15 days before. Fees are non-refundable, except a refund of prepaid subscription fees if you cancel within 3 business days of signing and before using the product (setup and activation fees excepted). Seat counts cannot be reduced mid-term. |
| IXACT Contact | No contract · cancel any time | Per the official Subscriber Agreement and signup page: 14-day free trial, then payments renew automatically until cancelled; cancel any Application at any time with written notice (email works). Cancelling before the next payment date gets no refund of monthly, annual or one-time payments. Cancelling the CRM also cancels the website. |
| Brivity | No contract · month-to-month | The official plans FAQ says Brivity does not require a contract and is billed month-to-month; an annual-payment discount is available through your sales rep. Notice period and refund terms are not published — ask before you sign. |
| Market Leader | Not disclosed — ask on consultation | The Teams and Professional product pages publish no term length, cancellation clause or setup fee. Ask for the order form in writing before you sign. |
| Agent Legend | Starter month-to-month · Grow/Pro 12-month | Official pricing page: Starter is month-to-month with no commitment; Grow, Professional and Enterprise are 12-month commitments billed monthly. Cancellation and refund terms beyond the commitment column are not spelled out on the pricing page — ask before you sign. |
| MoxiWorks | Not disclosed — brokerage quote | The public RISE FAQ says agents cannot buy directly. No term length, setup fee or cancellation clause is published on the RISE page. Get every line itemized in the brokerage order form. |
| Propertybase | Not disclosed — ask on demo | The public landing page publishes the $89/user/mo Force.com-included floor but no term length, cancellation clause or setup fee. Ask for the order form and whether anything beyond Force.com is billed by Salesforce separately. |
| Lone Wolf Relationships | Not disclosed — ask before you buy | The public Relationships page publishes a free trial and no term length, cancellation clause or plan price. Get pricing, EZ Texting fees and cancel terms in writing. |
What the published terms mean in practice
- Monthly with no term is the cheapest exit. Follow Up Boss on monthly billing and Wise Agent have no term. On Wise Agent, count the 30 days' notice into your timeline; on Follow Up Boss, amounts already paid are not refunded, so time a cancellation to your billing date.
- Annual billing is a commitment, not just a discount. Follow Up Boss annual billing is a 12-month term. The annual saving on Grow is $132 per login per year — weigh that against how sure you are you'll still be on it in twelve months.
- Website-first CRMs tie you in twice. Real Geeks and Sierra sell the IDX website and the CRM together on a term (6- or 12-month term · no month-to-month and 12-month term (either billing cycle)). Leaving the CRM usually means rebuilding the site. Real Geeks publishes a $50 domain-transfer fee; beyond that, exit terms for both are not published.
- Published month-to-month exits among the extras: IXACT Contact (cancel any time by written notice; payments non-refundable) and Brivity (no contract, month-to-month — notice/refund Not yet verified). Top Producer's Initial Term is on the order form, then month-to-month with 15 days' email notice. CINC, BoomTown, Ylopo, MoxiWorks, Market Leader Professional, and Lone Wolf Relationships are quote-only on exit terms — get them in the contract. BoomTown buyers should also ask what happens to the term when the account migrates to BoldTrail.
- Quote-only means exit terms are negotiated too. Lofty and BoldTrail (kvCORE's successor) publish no term, setup fee, or exit terms. Ask for them on the demo and get them in the contract.
Data you need to take with you
Whether each vendor lets you export contacts, notes, call and text history, and transaction records — and in what format — is Not yet verified for every CRM we track. Ask the vendor you're leaving, in writing, before you give notice:
- Can I export all contacts with tags, sources, and assigned agent?
- Can I export notes, call logs, text history, and email history — or only contacts?
- Do saved searches and listing alerts export, or will buyers stop getting alerts?
- Who owns the domain on my IDX website, and what does transferring it cost?
- Does my texting number move with me?
Before you pick the new CRM, check that it connects to the lead sources and transaction tools you already use: CRM integrations checklist →
And ask the vendor you're moving to whether they help with migration. On Follow Up Boss, for example: None published (not the same as a verified $0 — hands-on migration help starts on Pro).
Move-day checklist (so no lead goes missing)
- Run both systems in parallel for a few weeks. Keep the old CRM until every lead source is confirmed sending to the new one.
- Re-point every lead source. Zillow, Realtor.com, Homes.com, your website forms, Facebook lead ads, open-house sign-ins — list them all and send a test lead from each.
- Rebuild follow-up before you import. Set up the new drip campaigns and action plans first, so imported leads land in them instead of going quiet.
- Tell your team the date. On a team, assign one person to own the switch and check the old inbox daily until it's quiet.
- Cancel on the right date. Match the cancellation to the notice period and billing date above, and save the confirmation email.
What others say
What the trade press and independent reviewers say, paraphrased and linked with dates. We don’t republish star ratings or scores, and we have no scoring system of our own. Where an outside source’s prices differ from the vendor’s own pricing page, our numbers follow the vendor page. How we choose sources.
Follow Up Boss: Zillow’s Follow Up Boss privacy policy changes spark industry debate (opens in a new tab)
HousingWire · Brooklee Han · Oct 31, 2025Trade press
Covers a new FUB privacy policy (effective November 15, 2025) that adds a ‘mutual customer data’ category for contacts who also have their own Zillow account. Some coaches quoted in the piece told agents to keep their sphere in a different CRM. Zillow says it will not hand an agent’s contacts to other Premier or Flex agents and ties the change to its Zillow Pro suite.
“The only time shared data comes into play is when that contact independently has their own relationship with Zillow” — Zillow’s FAQ, as quoted by HousingWire
Accessed Oct 9, 2026.
BoomTown: BoomTown Confirms System-Wide Hack by Third-Party (opens in a new tab)
RISMedia · Jack Walsh · Apr 19, 2024Trade press
An eight-day outage in April 2024 was confirmed as a system-wide hack. Clients lost access to their sites and client data while it lasted. The company said forensic work had not shown customer or CRM data being breached, though the investigation was ongoing. Brokers quoted in the piece reported lost revenue and thin communication. It’s a reminder to ask any platform about uptime, incident communication and data exports.
Accessed Oct 9, 2026.
FAQ
Which real estate CRMs let me leave month-to-month?
Per published terms: Follow Up Boss on monthly billing (No contract on monthly · 12-month term on annual), Wise Agent (No term · 30 days' notice to cancel), IXACT Contact (No contract · cancel any time) and Brivity (No contract · month-to-month). Top Producer renews month-to-month only after the initial term on your order form.
Which CRMs lock me into a term?
Real Geeks (6- or 12-month term · no month-to-month) and Sierra Interactive (12-month term (either billing cycle)). Quote-only vendors set terms in the contract — ask before you sign.
What should I export before I cancel?
Contacts with tags and sources, notes, call and text history, transactions, and saved searches — and confirm who owns your website domain and texting number. Use the checklist above.
Contract and exit terms come from data/products, checked against each vendor's official pricing pages and terms of service (latest check October 2026). How we verify → · Compare year-one cost: What a real estate CRM costs →